My favourite quarantine meals

From left, chicken katsu curry and tofu and beansprouts fried rice

If you’ve been following my stories (hint, get sneak peeks on my stories always!) I had been stuck in hotel quarantine in New Zealand for fourteen days. Yup, you read that correctly.. 14 whole days. I mean the day we arrived wasn’t even counted as day 1, it was day ZERO.⁣

Duck confit with creamed pearl barley, side fresh salad (served daily) and a bread roll

I had already prepared myself and my two girls mentally for this stay, so we made the most of our time there. We were VERY lucky to be allocated a 5 star hotel (@stamfordplazaauckland) for our quarantine spot and everything was amazing. From the staff, to the room and especially the food!⁣

Lentil and eggplant pasta

We pre-ordered our meals from a menu about a week in advance, and had several choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There was a separate kids menu too which was great. I must admit, it was way too much food for us. Every day, we were given morning tea/afternoon tea as well as dessert after dinner. I had to request they stop sending ice cream every day for the kids’ desserts and I limited myself to 2 desserts the entire time. ⁣

Mushroom pasta bake, potato salad and lemon tart
Tofu poke bowl

This post is just to feature some of the best meals I had in quarantine. So much variety, international options and best of all some great plant-based options! I didn’t post any of the kids meals here but they were also very generous, and the same size as the adult portions too.⁣

Mezze plate

If you want to be stuck in hotel quarantine, you’d definitely want to be stuck @stamfordplazaauckland!⁣

Butter chicken meal
Roasted Mediterranean vegetables
Steak and mash
Chicken schnitzel with roasted kumara, side caesar salad and a pide bread

Leave a comment